Taskee vs Basecamp: flat fee against free
Basecamp does not charge per person on any plan — its pricing page leads with “No per-user fees, everyone’s included”. Studio is $59 a month flat for an unlimited number of people, the same headcount Taskee gives away free. The difference is not people, it is what $59 buys: 10 active projects and 25 GB. Basecamp Free allows exactly one project.
Pricing and limits verified: 2 September 2026
| Feature | Taskee | Basecamp |
|---|---|---|
| Free plan — users | Unlimited | 5 users max |
| Free plan — storage | Up to 10 GB | 1 GB |
| First paid tier, per user/mo (annual) | No paid tier — the product is free | $25/mo flat (Freelancer, up to 20 users; no per-user fee) |
| Kanban board | Yes | Yes — “Card Tables”, Basecamp’s own take on kanban |
| Native time tracking | Yes | Not on Free, Freelancer or Studio; Pro ($99/mo) and Unlimited ($299/mo) list “Time tracking” |
| Reports | Yes | Yes — “Reports & Automatic Check-ins”, on every plan including Free |
| Gantt / timeline | No | Not stated on the pricing page |
| Automation rules | No | Not stated on the pricing page |
| Native integrations | No connectors; REST API, 140 endpoints | No third-party marketplace stated; every plan lists “ChatGPT and Claude AI connectors” |
| Native mobile app | No — mobile browser only | Not stated on the pricing page |
| Custom roles and permissions | Yes | “Enhanced admin features” on Pro and Unlimited only |
Source: basecamp.com/pricing
Where Taskee is stronger
- Free means free at any size. Basecamp’s free plan stops at 1 project, 1 GB and 5 users; Taskee’s free plan has none of those three ceilings.
- Time tracking is native on Taskee’s only plan; on Basecamp it is absent from Free, Freelancer and Studio and arrives at Pro, $99 a month — see time tracking.
- Storage is not tied to a project count: 10 GB in total, against 1 GB attached to a single free project.
Where Basecamp is stronger
- Reports and automatic check-ins ship on the free plan, alongside message boards, to-dos, scheduling and chat — a wider free feature set than a single-purpose tracker.
- No per-user fee on any plan. Freelancer is $25 a month for up to 20 people; Studio ($59), Pro ($99) and Unlimited ($299, billed annually) carry no headcount limit at all.
- Time tracking exists on Pro and Unlimited, described on the page as tracking “hours/time spent working on projects”.
- A far more mature product: message boards, campfire chat, check-ins and a project-management culture built up over two decades.
Who should choose Taskee
- The team runs more than one project, more than 5 people or more than 1 GB of files, and the budget is zero.
- Time tracking has to exist without moving to a $99-a-month plan first.
- The team wants a single-purpose board tracker, not message boards, campfires and check-ins bundled in.
Free for unlimited users, up to 10 GB. No paid tier, no trial countdown.
Who should choose Basecamp
- The team wants message boards, to-dos, scheduling and chat in one place, not just a board.
- Paying per person is the actual objection, and a flat $25, $59 or $99 a month beats any per-seat arithmetic.
- Time tracking, once needed, is worth $99 a month rather than scripting around its absence.
What Taskee does not have yet
Taskee is a young product and the honest list of what it does not do is short but real, as of 2 September 2026:
- No standalone mobile app. The FAQ says it plainly: Taskee is adapted for the mobile browser and can be saved to the home screen, but there is no iOS or Android app.
- No native connectors. There is a documented REST API with 140 endpoints and a published OpenAPI 3.0 specification, plus CSV export, but no ready-made Slack, Google or Jira integration and no webhooks — see Taskee integrations.
- No Gantt chart or timeline view.
- No automation rules.
- Several features are marked “Soon” on the site — project budgeting, quick tasks, personal projects, custom reports and others. Roadmap is not delivery, and nothing on this page counts them as shipped.
The one competitor that also does not charge per person
Basecamp breaks the pattern of every other tool in this cluster, and it says so at the top of its pricing
page: no per-user fees on any plan. Freelancer is $25 a month for up to 20 people; Studio at $59, Pro at $99
and Unlimited at $299 billed annually carry no headcount limit at all — the same model Taskee offers
for nothing. That takes “unlimited users” off the table as an argument against Basecamp
specifically. What is left is a plainer question: are 10 active projects, 25 GB and, at Pro, native time
tracking worth $59 or $99 a month, or is a $0 bill worth losing all of it? Basecamp Free, before any of that,
allows exactly 1 project, 1 GB and 5 people.
Taskee’s free plan has no project count, no storage tied to a project and no five-person ceiling
— the numbers are on the Taskee pricing page. What it also does not have is
Basecamp’s twenty-year track record, its message boards, its campfire chat, its automatic check-ins or
its reputation as one of the calmer ways to run a small company. A team choosing between the two is not
really choosing between free and paid; it is choosing between an assembled product with a price and a narrow
tracker without one.
Where time tracking actually shows up
Basecamp’s pricing page lists “Time tracking” as an included bullet on Pro ($99 a month)
and Unlimited ($299 a month, billed annually), and as a struck-through, not-included line on Free, Freelancer
and Studio — despite those plans sharing nearly every other feature. A team on Studio at $59 a month,
expecting the same feature set as Pro, will not find it there: it is a $40-a-month step between two tiers for
that one capability. Taskee tracks time on its only plan, for free, with no tier to climb for it (see
time tracking and
project management).
Basecamp’s plans also name “ChatGPT and Claude AI connectors” — bring-your-own-agent
support with MCP — rather than a conventional integrations marketplace; nothing on the pricing page
describes Zapier-style connectors or a public API. Taskee’s answer to the same question is a REST API
with 140 endpoints and a published OpenAPI 3.0 specification (see
Taskee integrations): a workaround for a developer either way, not a
plug-and-play connector. For a comparison against a tool that shares Basecamp’s simple-board instinct,
see Trello alternatives compared, where both products appear
side by side.
