7 Trello alternatives with time tracking and reports
Teams leave Trello when the board count outgrows 10 boards per Workspace, or when they need the time tracking and reports Trello’s boards do not have natively. With one honest drawback named for each, Taskee included, the seven tools below are compared on the same axes: free users, free storage, first paid tier, time tracking and Gantt.
Pricing and limits verified: 2 September 2026
| Tool | Free plan — users | Free plan — storage | First paid tier (annual) | Native time tracking | Gantt / timeline |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Taskee | Unlimited | Up to 10 GB | No paid tier | Yes | No |
| Asana | 2 users | 100 MB per file | $10.99/user/mo | On Advanced ($24.99/user/mo) | Yes, from Starter |
| ClickUp | Not capped by seat count | 60 MB | $7/user/mo | On Unlimited ($7/user/mo) | Trial only on Free |
| Jira | 10 users | 2 GB | $7.91/user/mo | Not stated on the pricing page | Timeline included from Free |
| monday.com | 2 seats | Not published | $9/seat/mo | On Pro ($19/seat/mo) | From Standard ($12/seat/mo) |
| Notion | Limited for teams (count not published) | 5 MB per file | $10/seat/mo as printed | No | Not stated on the pricing page |
| Basecamp | 5 users | 1 GB | $25/mo flat | Not stated on the pricing page | Not stated on the pricing page |
Trello itself, for reference: free for 10 collaborators and 10 boards per Workspace, unlimited cards, 10 MB per file, 250 automation runs a month, iOS and Android apps. Standard is $5 per user per month billed annually. There is no native time tracker; the Timeline and Dashboard views arrive on Premium, $10 per user per month billed annually.
Source: trello.com/pricing
What Taskee does not have yet
Taskee is a young product and the honest list of what it does not do is short but real, as of 2 September 2026:
- No standalone mobile app. The FAQ says it plainly: Taskee is adapted for the mobile browser and can be saved to the home screen, but there is no iOS or Android app.
- No native connectors. There is a documented REST API with 140 endpoints and a published OpenAPI 3.0 specification, plus CSV export, but no ready-made Slack, Google or Jira integration and no webhooks — see Taskee integrations.
- No Gantt chart or timeline view.
- No automation rules.
- Several features are marked “Soon” on the site — project budgeting, quick tasks, personal projects, custom reports and others. Roadmap is not delivery, and nothing on this page counts them as shipped.
The seven alternatives, one by one
1. Taskee — best if you need unlimited free seats
Free with an unlimited number of users and up to 10 GB of storage; there is no paid tier and donations are
voluntary. Boards, native time tracking, reports with CSV export and configurable roles are included, and a
REST API with 140 endpoints and a published OpenAPI 3.0 specification stands in for connectors.
Honest drawback: no Gantt, no automation rules, no native connectors and no mobile app
— the mobile browser is the mobile experience.
Free for unlimited users, up to 10 GB. No paid tier, no trial countdown.
2. Asana — best if the team will grow past two people and wants Timeline
Free for 2 users with 100 MB per file and 100+ integrations. Starter is $10.99 per user per month billed
annually ($13.49 monthly) and adds Timeline, Gantt, dashboards and automation; Advanced, at $24.99, adds
native time tracking. Honest drawback: the free plan is the tightest by user count on this
list alongside monday.com — a third teammate forces the upgrade. See
Taskee vs Asana.
3. ClickUp — best if whiteboards and automation matter more than storage
Free Forever is not capped by seat count but caps storage at 60 MB, with 5 Spaces, 3 whiteboards, one form
and 100 automation runs across 5 active rules. Unlimited is $7 per user per month billed annually ($10
monthly) and is where Gantt charts and native time tracking begin. Honest drawback: 60 MB is
roughly one folder of screenshots — files, not features, are the free-plan ceiling.
4. Jira — best if the team needs backlogs and a workflow engine
Free for 10 users and 2 GB, with backlog, board, timeline and reports included; Standard is $7.91 per user
per month with 250 GB; Premium $14.54 with unlimited storage and a 99.9% uptime SLA. Automation runs 1,000
rule runs per user per month on paid tiers. Honest drawback: configuring workflows and
permissions is a project of its own for a team that only wanted boards.
5. monday.com — best if you will build custom automations and views
The Work Management product — not monday CRM, which prices separately — is free for 2 seats, 3
boards and 3 documents. Basic is $9 per seat per month billed annually, shown on the pricing page for a
10-seat team; automations and integrations start on Standard at 250 actions a month.
Honest drawback: the seat model gets expensive quickly, and the free-plan storage limit is
not published at all.
6. Notion — best if tasks should live next to documents
Free for personal use with a 5 MB file upload limit, 7-day page history and 10 guests; Plus is printed at $10 per seat a month
and Business at $20, with no separate annual figure on the page. Honest drawback: no
native time tracking, and a workspace has to be assembled before it behaves like a tracker.
7. Basecamp — best if per-user pricing is the problem
Free covers 1 project, 1 GB and 5 users. Freelancer is $25 a month; Studio is $59 a month with unlimited
users, 10 projects and 25 GB — the only paid plan on this list that does not charge per person.
Honest drawback: the free plan is a single project, and the product is opinionated —
message boards and check-ins rather than a configurable board like Trello’s.
How to choose
- Count the boards, not just the people. Trello’s 10-board ceiling per Workspace
often arrives before the 10-collaborator one — agencies that open a board per client hit it first. - Decide whether time tracking has to be native and free. On this list only Taskee lists it
on the free plan: ClickUp puts it on Unlimited ($7/user/mo), Asana on Advanced ($24.99/user/mo), monday.com on
Pro ($19/seat/mo), and Jira, Notion and Basecamp do not list it on their pricing pages at all. - Check the storage ceiling before the feature list. 60 MB on ClickUp Free and 5 MB per
file on Notion Free rule themselves out for teams that attach real files; 10 GB (Taskee) and 2 GB (Jira Free)
do not. - Work out how the tool charges as the team grows. Per user (Asana, ClickUp, Jira), per
seat (monday.com), flat per month (Basecamp), or not at all (Taskee). - Ask what happens to the data on the way out. A documented API or a CSV export makes the
next move cheap — see the Taskee REST API and CSV export.
Head-to-head: Taskee vs Trello. Features referenced above:
kanban board and
time tracking. Taskee’s own pricing is set out on the Taskee pricing page.
