Language not found

7 monday.com alternatives: per-seat, flat fee or free

Teams leave monday.com over the seat model: Free stops at 2 seats, and the pricing page shows Basic’s arithmetic for a block of ten seats at $9 each. With one honest drawback named for each, Taskee included, the seven alternatives below are grouped by how they actually charge: per person, one flat fee, or nothing at all.

Pricing and limits verified: 2 September 2026

ToolFree plan — usersFree plan — storage First paid tier (annual)Native time tracking Gantt / timeline
TaskeeUnlimitedUp to 10 GBNo paid tierYesNo
Asana2 users100 MB per file$10.99/user/moOn Advanced ($24.99/user/mo)Yes, from Starter
ClickUpNot capped by seat count60 MB$7/user/moTrial only on Free; included from Unlimited ($7/user/mo)Trial only on Free
Trello10 collaborators per Workspace10 MB per file$5/user/moNoPremium ($10/user/mo)
WrikeNot publishedNot published$10/user/mo (2–15 users)Not on Free or Team; named only on PinnacleNo on Free; Yes on Team
NotionLimited for teams (number not published)5 MB per file$10/seat/mo as printedNoNot stated on the pricing page
Basecamp5 users1 GB$25/mo flatNo — Pro adds it at $99/moNot stated on the pricing page

monday.com itself, for reference: the Work Management product covers 2 seats, 3 boards and 3 documents on its free plan, and the free-plan storage limit is not published. Basic is $9 per seat per month billed annually, shown on the pricing page for a 10-seat team; Standard is $12 and Pro is $19. Automations and native integrations arrive from Standard, Timeline and Gantt views from Standard, and time tracking on Pro.

Source: monday.com/pricing

What Taskee does not have yet

Taskee is a young product and the honest list of what it does not do is short but real, as of 2 September 2026:

  • No standalone mobile app. The FAQ says it plainly: Taskee is adapted for the mobile browser and can be saved to the home screen, but there is no iOS or Android app.
  • No native connectors. There is a documented REST API with 140 endpoints and a published OpenAPI 3.0 specification, plus CSV export, but no ready-made Slack, Google or Jira integration and no webhooks — see Taskee integrations.
  • No Gantt chart or timeline view.
  • No automation rules.
  • Several features are marked “Soon” on the site — project budgeting, quick tasks, personal projects, custom reports and others. Roadmap is not delivery, and nothing on this page counts them as shipped.

The seven alternatives, one by one

1. Taskee — best if per-seat pricing is the actual complaint

Free for an unlimited number of users with up to 10 GB of storage, and no paid tier at all, so there is no
seat count to price against — the whole plan is on the Taskee pricing page.
Boards, native time tracking, reports and configurable roles ship on that one
plan, backed by a REST API with 140 endpoints and a published OpenAPI 3.0 specification.
Honest drawback: no Gantt, no automation rules, no native connectors and no mobile app
— monday.com’s configurability has no equivalent here.

Free for unlimited users, up to 10 GB. No paid tier, no trial countdown.

2. Asana — best if the team wants Timeline without seat blocks

Free for 2 users with 100 MB per file and 100+ integrations. Starter is $10.99 per user per month billed
annually ($13.49 monthly) and adds Timeline, Gantt and automation; Advanced, at $24.99, adds native time
tracking. Honest drawback: two free users is as tight as monday.com’s own free plan
— the third person forces the upgrade either way.

3. ClickUp — best if the team wants monday-style automation for less

Free Forever is not capped by seat count but stops at 60 MB of storage, with 5 Spaces, 3 whiteboards and
100 automation runs across 5 active rules. Unlimited is $7 per user per month billed annually ($10 monthly)
— cheaper per seat than monday.com’s $9 Basic — and that is where Gantt charts and native
time tracking stop being trial-only. Honest drawback: on the free plan, Gantt, dashboards
and time tracking are all marked Trial, not included.

4. Trello — best if a board is genuinely all that is needed

Free for 10 collaborators and 10 boards per Workspace, with unlimited cards, 10 MB per file attachment and
250 automation runs a month. Standard is $5 per user per month billed annually — the cheapest paid seat
on this list. Honest drawback: no native time tracking at any tier, and the Timeline view
does not arrive until Premium at $10 per user per month.

5. Wrike — best if the team fits a defined user range and wants Gantt

Free, though Wrike does not publish what the free plan includes beyond four named features. Team is $10 per
user per month for 2 to 15 users and adds interactive Gantt charts and an AI bundle; Business is $25 for 5 to
200 users. Honest drawback: the plans are bounded at both ends — a team of 16, or of
201, changes tier just to fit.

6. Notion — best if tasks should sit next to documents and wikis

Free is aimed at individuals, with team usage described only as “limited for 2+ members”, a
5 MB per-file upload cap and 10 external guests. Plus is printed at $10 per seat per month and Business at
$20, with no separate annual figure on the page. Honest drawback: no native time tracking,
kanban board or Gantt view is named anywhere in the plan comparison.

7. Basecamp — best if flat pricing beats per-seat arithmetic outright

Free covers 1 project, 1 GB and 5 users. Freelancer is $25 a month for up to 20 people, and Studio, at $59
a month, drops the headcount limit entirely — the same model as Taskee, but paid.
Honest drawback: native time tracking does not appear until Pro at $99 a month; Free,
Freelancer and Studio do not have it.

How to choose

  • Work out how the bill actually grows. Per seat (Asana, ClickUp, Wrike), per seat quoted
    in blocks of ten (monday.com itself), flat regardless of headcount (Basecamp), or not at all (Taskee).
  • Decide whether a user range is acceptable. Wrike’s Team and Business plans are
    bounded at both ends — 2 to 15, then 5 to 200 — which none of the other tools here impose.
  • Check whether time tracking has to be free. On
    this list only Taskee lists it on a free plan. ClickUp Free marks it Trial and includes it from Unlimited
    ($7/user/mo), Asana reserves it for Advanced ($24.99/user/mo), Basecamp for Pro ($99/mo), and Trello, Wrike
    and Notion do not offer it on their free tiers at all.
  • Match the free-plan ceiling to real usage. 60 MB in total (ClickUp) and 5 MB per file
    (Notion) rule themselves out for teams attaching real files; 10 GB (Taskee) and 1 GB (Basecamp) sit at
    opposite ends of the same problem.
  • Ask what happens to the data on the way out. A documented API — see
    Taskee’s REST API — or a CSV export keeps the next move cheap
    whichever tool wins. For closer head-to-heads, see
    Taskee vs monday.com and
    Taskee vs ClickUp.

FAQ

Why is monday.com expensive for small teams?

Free stops at 2 seats, and the pricing page quotes costs for a 10-seat team rather than per person — Basic works out to $90 a month, or $1,080 a year, for that group of ten.

Is there a monday.com alternative with no per-seat pricing?

Two of them. Basecamp charges a flat monthly fee regardless of headcount on every plan, and Taskee is free for an unlimited number of users.

What does monday.com Free include?

Two seats, three boards and three documents. The free-plan storage limit is not published on the pricing page.

Which alternative has the closest board experience?

Trello and Taskee are both board-first with little setup. ClickUp and Wrike come closer to monday.com's configurability but ask for more setup before the first task moves.

Do any of these charge a flat fee?

Basecamp does, on every paid tier — $25, $59, $99 or $299 a month regardless of user count, with a 20-person cap only on the $25 plan. Taskee charges nothing at all.
scroll to up
Back to menu
Back to menu
For teams
Industries
Company type
See all solutions
See all solutions