Language not found

Taskee vs Notion: task tracker or workspace builder?

Notion is a workspace you build from pages, databases and wikis; a tracker is one shape it can take. Taskee is a tracker already built, with no wiki or database layer underneath it. Notion’s pricing page caps free uploads at 5 MB per file and does not mention time tracking anywhere; Taskee tracks hours natively from day one, on a free plan with no paid tier.

Pricing and limits verified: 2 September 2026

FeatureTaskeeNotion
Free plan — usersUnlimitedLimited for teams (number not published); 10 external guests
Free plan — storageUp to 10 GB5 MB per file upload
First paid tier, per user/mo (annual)No paid tier — the product is free$10 per seat/mo as printed on the page (Plus)
Kanban boardYesNot stated on the pricing page
Native time trackingYesNo
ReportsYesNot stated on the pricing page
Gantt / timelineNoNot stated on the pricing page
Automation rulesNoBasic buttons on Free; custom database automations from Plus
Native integrationsNo connectors; REST API, 140 endpointsNot stated for Free; Plus adds “basic connections” (Slack, Google Drive)
Native mobile appNo — mobile browser onlyNot stated on the pricing page
Custom roles and permissionsYesNot stated on the pricing page

Source: notion.com/pricing

Where Taskee is stronger

  • Native time tracking on the free plan. Notion’s pricing page does not mention time tracking at any tier — see time tracking.
  • Nothing to assemble before the first task exists. Notion’s flexibility means a tracker has to be built out of a database template first.
  • An unlimited number of users at no cost, against a free team headcount Notion describes only as “limited for 2+ members” without printing the number.

Where Notion is stronger

  • Databases with subtasks, dependencies and custom properties — a data layer Taskee does not have at all, and it is on the free plan.
  • Page history reaches back 7 days on Free and 30 days on Plus; Taskee keeps no page or version history, because it has no pages.
  • 10 external guests on Free, unlimited on Plus — a collaboration model built around inviting outside people into documents, not just into tasks.
  • Notion Calendar, basic sites and basic forms ship on Free — three products Taskee does not attempt.

Who should choose Taskee

  • The team wants a tracker that already looks like a tracker — boards, tasks, hours — with nothing to configure first.
  • Time tracking has to be native, not bolted on through a database formula or a connection.
  • Nobody needs wikis, databases or a workspace that also holds documents.

Free for unlimited users, up to 10 GB. No paid tier, no trial countdown.

Who should choose Notion

  • Tasks need to live next to documents, wikis and a knowledge base in the same tool.
  • The team wants to build custom databases — subtasks, dependencies, properties — shaped to its own process.
  • Guests need a home too: 10 on Free, unlimited on Plus, for reviewing shared pages rather than tasks.

What Taskee does not have yet

Taskee is a young product and the honest list of what it does not do is short but real, as of 2 September 2026:

  • No standalone mobile app. The FAQ says it plainly: Taskee is adapted for the mobile browser and can be saved to the home screen, but there is no iOS or Android app.
  • No native connectors. There is a documented REST API with 140 endpoints and a published OpenAPI 3.0 specification, plus CSV export, but no ready-made Slack, Google or Jira integration and no webhooks — see Taskee integrations.
  • No Gantt chart or timeline view.
  • No automation rules.
  • Several features are marked “Soon” on the site — project budgeting, quick tasks, personal projects, custom reports and others. Roadmap is not delivery, and nothing on this page counts them as shipped.

A tracker you assemble, and one you do not

Notion does not sell a tracker; it sells a page and database engine that a tracker can be built on top of.
The free plan allows up to 10 external guests, keeps 7 days of page history and caps file uploads at 5 MB
each — numbers that describe a documents product, not a task board. Plus, printed on the pricing page
at $10 per seat per month, raises guests to unlimited, page history to 30 days and removes the upload cap.
The page carries a monthly/yearly toggle promising “up to 20% with yearly” but prints no separate
annual figure, so $10 is quoted here exactly as the page shows it. None of that is about tasks specifically;
it is about how much of Notion’s workspace layer is unlocked before paying.

Taskee skips the assembly step. There is no database to design and no view to configure into a board:
the board, the tasks and the hours are already there, for an unlimited number of users, on a free plan with
no page or file history to speak of. That is a real trade. Notion’s database engine can be shaped into
something more powerful than any single-purpose tracker, and shaping it takes setup time Taskee never asks
for.

The feature that is not on Notion’s pricing page

Time tracking does not appear on Notion’s plan comparison at all — not gated to a paid tier,
not listed as a limitation, simply absent from the page in every spelling. Teams that want it inside Notion
usually wire it in through a database formula or a third-party connection, which Plus enables through
“basic connections” to tools like Slack and Google Drive; Free does not list connections at all.
Taskee tracks hours as a named feature on its one and only plan (see
time tracking), with no formula or connection required.

The same gap shows up around task management generally: Notion’s pricing page does not name a kanban
board or custom roles anywhere in its plan comparison. That does not mean the database engine cannot produce
something similar — only that none of it is a named, priced feature the way it is on a dedicated
tracker. Taskee’s task management and role configuration ship
as named features on the one plan there is, and what that plan costs is set out on the
Taskee pricing page. For a workspace built the opposite way, read
Taskee vs ClickUp; what replaces Notion’s connections is at
Taskee integrations.

FAQ

Does Notion track time natively?

No. Time tracking does not appear anywhere in Notion's plan comparison, in any spelling. Taskee tracks time natively on its one free plan.

What is the file size limit on Notion Free?

Up to 5 MB per file upload. Plus, printed at $10 per seat per month, removes the cap; the pricing page offers up to 20% off with yearly billing but does not print a separate annual figure.

Is Taskee a Notion replacement?

No. Taskee has no pages, wikis or databases — it is a task tracker, not a workspace builder. Teams that need documents and tasks in one tool should stay with Notion.

Can Taskee store documents?

Files attach to tasks, inside the free plan's 10 GB total. There is no wiki, page or database layer the way Notion has one.

Which suits a team that just needs tasks?

Taskee — boards, time tracking and reports exist on day one, with no database to design first. Notion fits better once tasks need to sit next to documents and a knowledge base.
scroll to up
Back to menu
Back to menu
For teams
Industries
Company type
See all solutions
See all solutions